Pranayam : Nadi Shodhan


Pranayama are of different types that are beneficial for varied ailments. These heal our bodies internally. Different types of Pranayama are:

  1. Anuloma Viloma Pranayama
  2. Surya Bhedi Pranayama
  3. Chandra Bhedi Pranayama
  4. Ujjayi Pranayama
  5. Sheetali Pranayama, Sheetkari Pranayama, Sadanta Pranayama
  6. Bhastrika Pranayama
  7. Bhramari Pranayama
  8. Moorchha Pranayama
  9. Kapal Bhati
  10. Nadi Shodhana Pranayama

Nadi Shodhana Pranayama is the main Pranayama, it is simplest and very much influential for health.

Process of doing Nadi Shodhana Pranayama :

Sit straight and calm in any sitting Asana or posture. Make Nasika mudra with right hand.

Initially close the right nostril with thumb and breathe out with left nostril, then breathe in from the same nostril that is left nostril.

Now breathe out from the right nostril by closing the left nostril with finger as shown. Again breathe in from right nostril and breathe out from left nostril, it completes one cycle. In this process, closing and opening of left and right nostril with defined thumb and finger should be continued.

Start with five cycles or nine cycles daily. This whole process should be continued in a very rhythmic manner with calm mind concentrating on breathing journey as it affects internally the status of manas (buddhi or mind). Changing the state of manas by regular practice is the result of Nadi Shodhana Pranayama.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here